2021
Featured

Antigone sous le soleil de midi

View calendar

Summary

The city of Thebes is the scene of this terrible story that we are going to tell you. It is a story that begins in the very heart of the family, where the tensions are the highest, the most devastating. Because everyone knows everyone else so well, each knows exactly what will cause the other the most pain, what will be the mortal injury.

This is the story of Antigone and Creon, the story of Oedipus, his parents and his children, the story of Ismene and Haemon. These people come from a distant country and time: Greece, more than two thousand years ago. But their names have endured through the ages, travelled around the world, and now they are before you, full of love and hate, life and death.

Adopting a sense of astonishment before these legendary figures who made their way into history, Suzanne Lebeau takes us back to fundamental questions that underlie the workings of Western societies. With this new text, she offers a foray into the world of philosophy, leading us to a disarming fact: there are no definitive answers to the great questions of life.

The show, rooted in uncompromising modernity, reveals the timeless nature of the tragedy. It allows spectators to seize upon their critical senses to probe the meaning of life.

Prolong the artistic encounter… digitally!

Learn more
10 years old and +
60 minutes
300 spectators
Creative team

Text
Suzanne Lebeau

Directed by
Marie-Eve Huot

Assistant director
Marjorie Bélanger

Cast
Ludger Côté, Citlali Germé et Sasha Samar

Set design
Pierre-Étienne Locas

Costumes
Linda Brunelle

Lighting design
Dominique Gagnon

Sound environment
Diane Labrosse

Musical consultant
Pierre Tanguay

Movement consultant
Jacques Poulin-Denis

Make up and hair
Angelo Barsetti

Shadow Advisor
Clea Minaker

Philosophical advisor
Gilles Abel

Voice and diction consultant
Emilie Dionne

Technical director
Nicolas Fortin

Sound and lighting manager
Gabrielle Couillard

In co-production with Théâtre Gilles-Vigneault (Saint-Jérôme, Quebec).

Photos in show : Marc-Antoine Zouéki

Installation accompanying the show

Installation accompanying the show Antigone sous le soleil de midi

Before entering the theatre to see the performance of Antigone sous le soleil de midi, audiences can see an installation artwork by Pierre-Étienne Locas in an audio environment designed by Diane Labrosse and Pierre Tanguay. The sculpture is on display in the lobby of theatres that host the Le Carrousel production.

The sculpture by Pierre-Etienne Locas

Emulating the terracotta figurines handled by the actors in Antigone sous le soleil de midi, Pierre-Étienne Locas has created a sculpture composed of some sixty clay figurines of a single colour, each one distinct, posed on a reflective surface. One is different from the others, in the centre of the crowd, looking up: Antigone. Above her is a single light source that illuminates the entire work: the harsh midday sun.

The installation’s audio environment by Diane Labrosse and Pierre Tanguay, sound designers

Voices, words, whispers, a rumour … in tune with heartbeats. Steps, a military march, a frantic run … The audio environment wrapping around the sculpture is composed of sounds recorded in the classroom during sound workshops on the show’s themes: family, power, fears, responsibilities, integrity, doubt. The voices of the characters in the play have also been integrated into the audio environment. We hear Antigone, her uncle Creon, Corypheus, and others.

Press clipping

“In Le Carrousel’s new production, Suzanne Lebeau democratizes Sophocles’s play while bringing to light the stunning contemporaneity of its themes … Marie-Eve Huot’s uncluttered direction also contributes to the overall robustness. Thanks to a thousand and one details and her ingenuity, she evokes the tragedy without ever presenting it plainly … All this creative richness is carried along by the on-stage music, which adds to the dramatic weight, but also by the moments of silence that the spectators, absorbed, respected until the end.”

Marie Fradette, Le Devoir

Antigone sous le soleil de midi: a strong story, coupled with a brilliant aesthetic, makes for a spellbinding show, if we go by the attentive silence that reigned in the theatre throughout the performance. Although the questions asked of the audience remain unanswered, they provide an admirable basis for discussion.”

Daphné Bathalon, theatre.quebec

Production history

Premiered on November 19, 2021 by le Carrousel theatre company at la Maison Théâtre (Montreal), in residence at Théâtre de la Ville (Longueuil), In co-production with Théâtre Gilles-Vigneault (Saint-Jérôme, Quebec).

2021-2022 SEASON : 29 performances – One international festival
In Quebec : Maison Théâtre, Montréal; Longueuil, Saint-Jérôme.
In France : Aurillac, Reims (Festival Méli’môme).

2021
À l'affiche

Antigone sous le soleil de midi

Voir le calendrier

Résumé

La ville de Thèbes est le témoin de cette histoire terrible que nous allons vous raconter. Une histoire qui commence au cœur même de la famille, là où les tensions sont les plus vives, les plus dévastatrices, parce qu’on se connaît bien, qu’on sait parfaitement ce qui fera le plus mal à l’autre… ce qui le blessera mortellement.

Cette histoire est celle d’Antigone et Créon, celle d’Œdipe, de ses parents et de ses enfants, celle d’Ismène et de Hémon. Ces personnages viennent d’un pays et d’un siècle lointains : la Grèce d’il y a plus de deux mille ans… Mais leurs noms ont traversé le temps, fait le tour du monde pour se rendre jusqu’à vous, chargés d’amour, de haine, de vie et de mort.
Adoptant une posture d’étonnement devant ces figures mythiques qui sont passées à l’histoire, Suzanne Lebeau nous ramène aux questions fondamentales qui sous-tendent le fonctionnement de nos sociétés occidentales. Avec ce nouveau texte, la dramaturge propose une incursion dans l’univers de la philosophie, nous ramenant devant un état de fait désarmant : il n’y a pas de réponses définitives aux grandes questions de la vie.

Le spectacle, ancré dans une modernité sans compromis, révèlera le caractère intemporel de la tragédie. Il permettra aux spectateurs de s’emparer de leur sens critique pour mieux interroger le sens de l’existence.

Prolonger la rencontre artistique… en numérique!

En savoir plus
10 ans et +
60 minutes
300 spectateurs
Crédits et mentions

Texte
Suzanne Lebeau

Mise en scène
Marie-Eve Huot

Assistance à la mise en scène
Marjorie Bélanger

Distribution
Ludger Côté, Citlali Germé et Sasha Samar

Espace
Pierre-Étienne Locas

Costumes
Linda Brunelle

Lumière
Dominique Gagnon

Environnement sonore
Diane Labrosse

Conseiller musical
Pierre Tanguay

Conseiller au mouvement
Jacques Poulin-Denis

Coiffures et maquillages
Angelo Barsetti

Conseillère aux ombres
Clea Minaker

Conseiller philosophique
Gilles Abel

Conseillère voix et diction
Emilie Dionne

Direction technique et régie plateau
Nicolas Fortin

Régie son et lumière
Gabrielle Couillard

Antigone sous le soleil de midi est une création de la compagnie de théâtre Le Carrousel, en coproduction avec le Théâtre Gilles-Vigneault (Saint-Jérôme, Québec).

Photos du spectacle : Marc-Antoine Zouéki

Exposition qui accompagne le spectacle

Installation qui accompagne le spectacle Antigone sous le soleil de midi

Avant d’entrer en salle pour assister à la représentation d’Antigone sous le soleil de midi, le public peut observer une œuvre installative de Pierre-Étienne Locas dans un environnement sonore signé Diane Labrosse et Pierre Tanguay. Cette sculpture est exposée dans le hall des théâtres qui accueillent la production du Carrousel.

La sculpture de Pierre-Etienne Locas

En écho aux figurines de terre cuite qui se retrouvent dans le spectacle et qui sont manipulées par les interprètes d’Antigone sous le soleil de midi, Pierre-Étienne Locas propose une sculpture composée d’une soixantaine de figurines d’argile de même couleur, toutes distinctes, posées sur une plaque qui les reflète. Une diffère du lot, au centre du plateau, sous la lumière franche : Antigone, qui regarde vers le haut. Au-dessus d’elle, le soleil de midi : une source lumineuse unique qui éclaire toute l’œuvre.

L’environnement sonore de l’installation par Diane Labrosse et Pierre Tanguay, concepteurs sonores

Des voix, des mots, des chuchotements, une rumeur… Des battements de cœur au diapason. Des pas, une marche militaire, une course effrénée… L’environnement sonore enveloppe la sculpture et se compose de sons recueillis en classe lors d’ateliers sonores sur les thèmes du spectacle : la famille, le pouvoir, les craintes, les responsabilités, l’intégrité, le doute. Les voix des personnages de la pièce sont aussi intégrées à cet environnement sonore. On y entend Antigone, son oncle Créon, le Coryphée…

Extraits de presse

« Dans cette nouvelle création du Carrousel, Suzanne Lebeau démocratise l’œuvre de Sophocle tout en mettant en lumière l’étonnante contemporanéité des thèmes. […] La mise en scène épurée de Marie-Ève Huot participe par ailleurs de la solidité de l’ensemble. Grâce à mille et un petits détails et à son ingéniosité, elle évoque le drame sans jamais l’offrir de manière frontale. […] Toute cette richesse créative est portée par la musique sur scène qui ajoute à la charge dramatique, mais aussi par les moments de silence que les spectateurs, absorbés, ont respectés jusqu’à la fin. »

Marie Fradette, Le Devoir

« […] Antigone sous le soleil de midi : une narration forte couplée à une esthétique brillante qui en font un spectacle prenant, si on se fie au silence attentif qui règne dans la salle tout au long de la représentation. Si les questions adressées au public demeurent sans réponse, elles lancent admirablement bien les discussions. »

Daphné Bathalon, theatre.quebec

Historique de la production

Créé le 19 novembre 2021 par Le Carrousel, compagnie de théâtre à la Maison Théâtre (Montréal), en coproduction avec le Théâtre Gilles-Vigneault (Saint-Jérôme, Québec), accueilli en résidence au Théâtre de la Ville (Longueuil).

SAISON 2021-2022 : 29 représentations – Un festival international
Au Québec : Maison Théâtre, Montréal; Longueuil, Saint-Jérôme.
En France : Aurillac, Reims (Festival Méli’môme).